Category Archives: presentations

Keynote zur (Direkten) Demokratie in Zeiten individualisierter Mediennutzung

Letzte Woche hatte ich die Ehre, die 9. Aarauer Demokratietage zur Rolle der Medien in der direkten Demokratie zu eröffnen mit einer Keynote zur “(Direkten) Demokratie in Zeiten individualisierten Mediennutzung”. Dort konnte ich die ersten Ergebnisse meiner Studie zu Public Disconnection, Fragmenierung der digitalen Nachrichtenpublika und indirekter Nachrichtennutzung in der Schweiz vorstellen (finanziert vom NCCR democracy und dem Institut für Publizistikwissenschaft und Medienforschung an der Universität Zürich.

Ein Facebook-Live-Feed des Vortrags findet sich hier.
Und eine Kurzversion des Vortrags auf dem blog defacto.

Leave a Comment

Filed under presentations, Publikationen

Vortrag zu “Exploring news content complexity using network analysis” auf der ICA

Auf der ICA preconference zu “Social & Semantic Networks in Communication Research” präsentiert mein Team ein Methoden-Papier zum Nutzen der Netzwerkanalyse für die Analyse der Komplexität von Nachrichteninhalten. Auf Basis unseres Datensatzes zur politischen Claims in der Berichterstattung zur österreichischen Nationalratswahl 2013 zeigt die Analyse mit Hilfe der Netzwerk-Kennwerte density, centralization und heterogeneity, dass die Themen-Berichterstattung der Qualitätszeitungen zwar komplexer ist als die der Boulevardpresse, sich in den Akteur-Netzwerken keine systematischen Unterschiede zwischen den beiden Zeitungstypen zeigen. Das Paper dazu findet Ihr auf der Webseite der Preconference: hier.

Leave a Comment

Filed under presentations, Publikationen

Bin mit zwei Vorträgen bei der ICA in Seattle dabei!

Ich werde mit zwei Vorträgen auf der ICA in Seattle vertreten sein:

“Multi-media Theme Repertoires in the Everyday Identity Practices of Young Adults” mit Kati Förster

“Media as a Mirror of Societal Norms? Norms and Values in Media Content” mit Cordula Nitsch

Mehr Informationen zur Konferenz gibt’s hier: http://www.icahdq.org/

Leave a Comment

Filed under presentations

AUTNES-MediaSide mit drei Vorträgen auf der DGPuK 2014 in Passau

Mein AUTNES-MediaSide-Team und ich werden auf der diesjährigen DGPuK-Jahrestagung in Passau drei Aufsätze präsentieren (28.-30.05.2014):

  • “Intermedia-Agenda-Setting zwischen Online-Nachrichten und traditionellen Medien” (gemeinsam mit Ramona Vonbun, Klaus Schönbach)
  • “Politische Vielfalt in Online- und Offline-Öffentlichkeiten zur österreichischen Nationalratswahl 2013″ (gemeinsam mit Jakob-Moritz Eberl, Martin Haselmayer, Carina Jacobi, Ramona Vonbun und Klaus Schönbach)
  • “Twitter als Agenda-Setter?” (gemeinsam mit Jakob-Moritz Eberl, Ramona Vonbun, und zudem Axel Maireder und Stephan Schlögl von TANEP)

Nähere Infos zur Tagung gibt es hier: http://www.dgpuk2014.de/tagungsinformationen/tagungsprogramm/

Leave a Comment

Filed under presentations

Vortrag auf der 3-Länder-Tagung “Politik der Vielfalt” in Innsbruck am 20.09.13

Diese Woche präsentiere ich die Ergebnisse meiner Analyse der Fragmentierung der österreichischen Öffentlichkeit aus Perspektive der Bürgerinnen und Bürger auf der 3-Länder-Tagung “Politik der Vielfalt” in Innsbruck. Auf Basis der Sekundäranalyse einer standardisierten Befragung zur Nutzung von allen 68 allgemeinen Nachrichtenmedien in Österreich (Presse, TV, Radio und Online) kann ich zeigen, dass 17 Prozent der österreichischen Bevölkerung nur prekär oder gar nicht mittels Nachrichtenmedien an die politische Öffentlichkeit angebunden sind. Durch eine Erweiterung des Opportunity-Ability-Motivation-Modells (Luskin, 1990) um eine weitere Dimension (=Vertrauen), die den Besonderheiten  öffentlicher Anbindung als Form der politischen Partizipation Rechnung trägt, habe ich ein theoretisches Modell entwickelt, dass die verschiedenen Abstufungen öffentlicher Anbindungen gut erklärt: Die wahrgenommene Verpflichtung informiert zu sein und das Gespräch mit anderen über Politik sind die wichtigsten Prädiktoren der öffentlichen Anbindung. Nicht-angebundene Bürgerinnen und Bürger zeichnen sich zudem durch ein deutlich geringeres Vertrauen in das politische System und die Medien aus.

Hier der Link zum Tagungsprogramm.

Leave a Comment

Filed under presentations

Vortrag auf der IAMCR zu Themenrepertoires und Identitätsarbeit

Heute präsentiere ich einen Aufsatz von meiner Kollegin Kati Förster und mir zu “The role of cross-medial genre repertoires in the identity construction of young audiences” auf der IAMCR in Dublin.

Leave a Comment

Filed under presentations

Category Archives: presentations

Keynote on (Direct) Democracy in the Age of Individualized Media Use

Last week I had the honor of opening the 9th Aarau Democracy Days on the role of media in direct democracy with a key note on “(Direct) Democracy in the Age of Individualized Media Use”. I was very happy to have an occasion to present first results from my study on public disconnection, fragmentation of digital audience and indirect news use in Switzerland , supported by the NCCR democracy and the Institute for Mass Communication and Media Research at the University of Zurich.

You can either catch the live Facebook feed here.
or you can read a summarized version on the blog defacto.

Both are in (high) German.

Leave a Comment

Filed under presentations, publications

Presentation on “Exploring news content complexity using network analysis” at ICA

At the ICA preconference on “Social & Semantic Networks in Communication Research” my team is presenting a methodological paper on the usefulness of network analysis for exploring the complexitiy of news content. Using our dataset on political claims in the coverage of the Austrian 2013 national election campaign, the analysis employs the network measures density, centralization and heterogeneity to show that while the issue coverage of quality papers does appear to be more complex than that of tabloid papers, the actor networks display no systematic differences in complexity between the two types of newspapers. Check out the conference paper at the preconference website.

Leave a Comment

Filed under presentations, publications

Two papers accepted at the ICA in Seattle!

I’ll be presenting two papers at the ICA in Seattle this year:

“Multi-media Theme Repertoires in the Everyday Identity Practices of Young Adults” with Kati Förster

“Media as a Mirror of Societal Norms? Norms and Values in Media Content” with Cordula Nitsch

For more information on this year’s ICA, click here: http://www.icahdq.org/

Leave a Comment

Filed under presentations

AUTNES-MediaSide will be presenting three papers at the DGPuK in Passau

My team and I will present three papers at the German annual conference for communication research in Passau this year (28.-30.05.2014):

  • “Intermedia-Agenda-Setting zwischen Online-Nachrichten und traditionellen Medien” (together with Ramona Vonbun, Klaus Schönbach)
  • “Politische Vielfalt in Online- und Offline-Öffentlichkeiten zur österreichischen Nationalratswahl 2013″ (together with Jakob-Moritz Eberl, Martin Haselmayer, Carina Jacobi, Ramona Vonbun and Klaus Schönbach)
  • “Twitter als Agenda-Setter?” (together with Jakob-Moritz Eberl, Ramona Vonbun, as well as Axel Maireder and Stephan Schlögl from TANEP)

For more information on the conference, please click here:  http://www.dgpuk2014.de/tagungsinformationen/tagungsprogramm/

Leave a Comment

Filed under presentations

Presentation at the 3-Country-Conference “Politics of Diversity” in Innsbruck on Sep. 20th, 2013

This week I’ll be presenting my analysis of the fragmentation of the public sphere from the perspective of the Austrian citizens at the 3-Country-Conference “Politics of Diversity” in Innsbruck (on Friday, Sep. 20th). Based on a secondary analysis of a standardized survey on the usage of all 68 Austrian general news media (print, TV, radio and online) I can show that 17 percent of the Austrian citizens are either only precariously or not at all connected to the Austrian public sphere via news media. By expanding the opportunity-ability-motivation-model (Luskin, 1990) with an additional dimension (=trust) to account for the particular characteristics of public connection or news exposure as a form of political participation, I have developed a theoretical model to explain the different degrees of public connection: The duty to keep informed as well as talking with others about politics emerge as key predictors of public connection. Furthermore, disconnected citizens are characterized by a distinct lack of trust in both the political system and the media.

Please follow the link for the conference programme.

Leave a Comment

Filed under presentations

Presentation at the IAMCR on theme repertoires and identity work

Today I’ll be presenting a paper by my colleague Kati Förster and me on “The role of cross-medial genre repertoires in the identity construction of young audiences” at the IAMCR in Dublin. If you’re interested, please join us at 2pm in HG20!

Leave a Comment

Filed under presentations