Ruf auf Professur für Politische Kommunikation

Im Frühlingssemester 2015 folge ich dem Ruf der Universität Zürich auf eine Assistenzprofessur für politische Kommunikation am Institut für Publizistikwissenschaft und Medienforschung. Ich freue mich schon sehr auf meine neuen Aufgaben und den neuen Standort!

Leave a Comment

Filed under pr

Unser Tagungsband zu Medienkonvergenz und Medienkomplementarität ist erschienen!

Soeben ist der von Kati Förster und mir herausgegebene Tagungsband “Medienkonvergenz und Medienkomplementarität aus Rezeptions- und Wirkungsperspektive” bei Nomos erschienen:

Medienkonvergenz und Medienkomplementarität – Welche Auswirkungen hat die technologische und auch inhaltliche Verschmelzung von ehemals getrennten Medienkanälen auf das individuelle Mediennutzungsverhalten? Wie verändern sich etwa Informationsrepertoires und inwiefern nimmt dies Einfluss auf Themenagenden der Nutzer und Nutzerinnen? Inwieweit verlieren die Medien durch diesen Medien(nutzungs)wandel in Zukunft gar ihre Integrationsfunktion? Diesen Fragen geht der vorliegende Band nach und nimmt darüber hinaus theoretische und methodische Herausforderungen durch Medienkonvergenz und Medienkomplementarität für die Rezeptions- und Wirkungsforschung in den Blick.

Mit Beiträgen von: Uwe Hasebrink, Birgit Stark, Anna Schnauber, Cornelia Wolf, Damian Trilling, Katharina Kleinen-von Königslöw, Claudia Wilhelm, Wolfgang Seufert, Merja Mahrt, Gianna Haake, Judith Väth, Sarah Klappert, Anke Wonneberger, Susanne E. Baumgartner, Wouter D. Weeda, Mariëtte Huinzinga und Kati Förster

Das vollständige Inhaltsverzeichnis könnt Ihr hier herunterladen, oder gleich den Band hier bestellen.

Leave a Comment

Filed under pr, Publikationen

Vortrag zu “Exploring news content complexity using network analysis” auf der ICA

Auf der ICA preconference zu “Social & Semantic Networks in Communication Research” präsentiert mein Team ein Methoden-Papier zum Nutzen der Netzwerkanalyse für die Analyse der Komplexität von Nachrichteninhalten. Auf Basis unseres Datensatzes zur politischen Claims in der Berichterstattung zur österreichischen Nationalratswahl 2013 zeigt die Analyse mit Hilfe der Netzwerk-Kennwerte density, centralization und heterogeneity, dass die Themen-Berichterstattung der Qualitätszeitungen zwar komplexer ist als die der Boulevardpresse, sich in den Akteur-Netzwerken keine systematischen Unterschiede zwischen den beiden Zeitungstypen zeigen. Das Paper dazu findet Ihr auf der Webseite der Preconference: hier.

Leave a Comment

Filed under presentations, Publikationen

Post-Doc für Forschungsprojekt gesucht!

Der Schweizer Nationalfond hat einen Projektantrag von Mike S. Schäfer (University of Zurich) und mir bewilligt! Das Projekt untersucht die Transnationalisierung der öffentlichen Debatten zu Klimapolitik in 16 Ländern weltweit. Zur Zeit suchen wir noch einen Post-Doc (OberassistentIn) mit Erfahrung in standardisierter, wenn möglich auch automatisierter Inhaltsanalyse. Die Stelle ist für zwei Jahre an der Universität Zürich ausgeschrieben.

Für mehr Informationen meldet Euch bitte bei mir oder schaut Euch die Ausschreibung an.

Leave a Comment

Filed under pr

Mein neuester Aufsatz “Politischer Humor in medialen Unterhaltungsangeboten” ist erschienen!

Soeben ist mein neuester Aufsatz “Politischer Humor in medialen Unterhaltungsangeboten” erschienen – in einem insgesamt sehr lohnenswerten Sammelband zu “Politische Unterhaltung – Unterhaltende Politik. Forschung zu Medieninhalten, Medienrezeption und Medienwirkung”, herausgegeben von Marco Dohle und Gerhard Vowe im Halem-Verlag.

Mein Beitrag systematisiert die bisherige Forschung zu politischem Humor in medialen Unterhaltungsangeboten auf Basis von sechs unterschiedlichen Typen des politischen Humors – kritischer Humor, Humor für alle, Humor-Geschichten, menschelnder Humor, Guerilla-Humor und Humor unter Freunden – und schlüsselt die jeweiligen Erkenntnisse in Bezug auf Kommunikatoren, Inhalte und den Beitrag dieser Formate zur öffentlichen Kommunikation auf.

Leave a Comment

Filed under Publikationen

3. Preis beim Best-Paper-Award der DGPuK-Fachgruppe Rezeptions- und Wirkungsforschung

Und noch ein Preis, juchee!

Meine Kollegin Kati Förster und ich sind mit dem 3. Preis im Best-Paper-Award der DGPuK-Fachgruppe Rezeptions- und Wirkungsforschung ausgezeichnet worden für unseren Aufsatz: “Die Bedeutung medienübergreifender Themenrepertoires für die Identitätsarbeit junger Erwachsener”.
Zur Feier des Tages gibt es die Preprint-Version des Artikels hier: Hier.

Die enge Beziehung zwischen Medien und Identität ist seit mehreren Jahren Gegenstand vieler theoretischer Debatten und empirischer Arbeiten. Die zunehmende Mediatisierung und veränderte Mediennutzungsgewohnheiten machen dieses Thema heute aktueller und wichtiger denn je. Der vorliegende Beitrag untersucht im Speziellen die Bedeutung (medienübergreifender) Themenrepertoires für die Identitätsarbeit junger Erwachsener. Dazu wurde eine Medientagebuchstudie mit 59 Studierenden über einen Zeitraum von vier Wochen durchgeführt. Auf Basis der darin dokumentierten 15.000 Mediennutzungssituationen wurden vier verschiedene Themenrepertoire-Typen identifiziert. Wöchentliche Reflexionen der Studierenden erlauben außerdem einen Einblick in die Identitätsarbeit mit Medieninhalten für die einzelnen Gruppen.

Leave a Comment

Filed under Publikationen

Auszeichnung für den “Artikel des Jahres 2013″ im European Journal of Communication

Das European Journal of Communication hat den Artikel “Explaining Cosmopolitan Coverage” von Michael Brüggemann und mir als “Artikel des Jahres 2013″ ausgezeichnet! Den Artikel, in dem wir durch Fuzzy Set Qualitative Comparative Analysis unterschiedliche Bedingungen für kosmopolitische Berichterstattung in 12 europäischen Zeitungen identifizieren konnten, findet Ihr hier.

Leave a Comment

Filed under pr

Musiktipp: Axel Bloom

Wer sich fragt, ob ich auch irgendwelche Interessen jenseits der politischen Kommunikation habe, sollte sich mal die Musik meines Lieblings Singer-Songwriter anhören: Axel Bloom.

Sein neues Album “Irgendwo, Wien” gibt es kostenlos bei bandcamp!

Leave a Comment

Filed under pr

Bin mit zwei Vorträgen bei der ICA in Seattle dabei!

Ich werde mit zwei Vorträgen auf der ICA in Seattle vertreten sein:

“Multi-media Theme Repertoires in the Everyday Identity Practices of Young Adults” mit Kati Förster

“Media as a Mirror of Societal Norms? Norms and Values in Media Content” mit Cordula Nitsch

Mehr Informationen zur Konferenz gibt’s hier: http://www.icahdq.org/

Leave a Comment

Filed under presentations

AUTNES-MediaSide mit drei Vorträgen auf der DGPuK 2014 in Passau

Mein AUTNES-MediaSide-Team und ich werden auf der diesjährigen DGPuK-Jahrestagung in Passau drei Aufsätze präsentieren (28.-30.05.2014):

  • “Intermedia-Agenda-Setting zwischen Online-Nachrichten und traditionellen Medien” (gemeinsam mit Ramona Vonbun, Klaus Schönbach)
  • “Politische Vielfalt in Online- und Offline-Öffentlichkeiten zur österreichischen Nationalratswahl 2013″ (gemeinsam mit Jakob-Moritz Eberl, Martin Haselmayer, Carina Jacobi, Ramona Vonbun und Klaus Schönbach)
  • “Twitter als Agenda-Setter?” (gemeinsam mit Jakob-Moritz Eberl, Ramona Vonbun, und zudem Axel Maireder und Stephan Schlögl von TANEP)

Nähere Infos zur Tagung gibt es hier: http://www.dgpuk2014.de/tagungsinformationen/tagungsprogramm/

Leave a Comment

Filed under presentations

New position as professor of political communication

In the spring semester 2015 I will start working as an assistant professor of political communication at the University of Zurich – I’m very much looking forward to my new position and the new research institute!

Leave a Comment

Filed under pr

New book out on media convergence and media complementarity!

Out now: the book “Media convergence and media complementarity from the perspective of media reception and effects research” (in German), edited by my colleague Kati Förster and myself:

Media convergence and media complementarity – How are individual habits of media use affected by the convergence in technology and content of previously independent media channels? How do information media repertoires change and how do these changes affect the issue agendas of their users? Will the media still be able to fulfill their integration function under these new circumstances? In answer to these and other questions, the contributions in this edited volume discuss the theoretical, methodological, and empirical challenges of media convergence and media complementarity for research on media use and media effects.

With contributions by: Uwe Hasebrink, Birgit Stark, Anna Schnauber, Cornelia Wolf, Damian Trilling, Katharina Kleinen-von Königslöw, Claudia Wilhelm, Wolfgang Seufert, Merja Mahrt, Gianna Haake, Judith Väth, Sarah Klappert, Anke Wonneberger, Susanne E. Baumgartner, Wouter D. Weeda, Mariëtte Huinzinga and Kati Förster

Download the complete table of contents here, or simply order the book here.

Leave a Comment

Filed under pr, publications

Presentation on “Exploring news content complexity using network analysis” at ICA

At the ICA preconference on “Social & Semantic Networks in Communication Research” my team is presenting a methodological paper on the usefulness of network analysis for exploring the complexitiy of news content. Using our dataset on political claims in the coverage of the Austrian 2013 national election campaign, the analysis employs the network measures density, centralization and heterogeneity to show that while the issue coverage of quality papers does appear to be more complex than that of tabloid papers, the actor networks display no systematic differences in complexity between the two types of newspapers. Check out the conference paper at the preconference website.

Leave a Comment

Filed under presentations, publications

Open position for postdoctoral researcher!

The Swiss National Fond has approved funding for a research proposal submitted by Mike S. Schäfer (University of Zurich) and me! The project will investigate the transnationalization of public spheres in the debate on climate policy in 16 countries worldwide. Currently we are looking for a post-doctoral researcher experienced in standardized and if possible also automated content analysis, the position is for two years and is situated at the University of Zurich.

For more information on the position, please contact me or have a look at the job description here

Leave a Comment

Filed under pr

Check out my new article on political humour in media entertainment!

My newest article on political humour in media entertainment has just been published in a very rich and interesting volume on “Political Entertainment – Entertaining Politics”, edited by Marco Dohle and Gerhard Vowe, in the German Halem-Verlag.

My contribution consists of a systematic overview of previous research on political humour in media entertainment by distinguishing six different types: – critical humour, humour for everyone, humour narratives, humour as pr, guerilla humour and humour among friends. For each of these types, the articles discusses our current knowledge on its main communicators, its content and its contribution to public communication and the public sphere.

Leave a Comment

Filed under publications

Third prize at the Best-Paper-Award of the Reception and Effects Reserach-Section of the German Communikation Association

More prizes, yeah!

My colleague Kati Förster and I have been awarded the 3rd prize in the Best-Paper-Award of the recetion and effects research section of the German Communication Association (DGPuK) for our contribution: “The role of cross media theme repertoires for the identity work of young adults”. Please have a look at the preprint version of our article: Here (in German).

The close relationship between media and identity has been the subject of many theoretical discussions and empirical studies in recent years, in particular given the growing mediatisation and ongoing changes in our habits of media use. The contribution focuses on the role of cross media theme repertoires in the identity work of young adults. The analysis is based on media diaries by 59 students over a period of four weeks. The 15.000 moments of medis use documented in these were used to identify four different types of theme repertoires: News aficionados, sport fans, drama lovers and intense media workers. In addition the weekly reflections of participants allowed us to investigate how the different media contents are used for identity practices within these groups.

Leave a Comment

Filed under publications

Prize for the “2013 Article of the Year” in the European Journal of Communication

My co-author Michael Brüggemann and I have been awarded the “2013 Article of the Year” Award by the European Journal of Communication for our article “Explaining Cosmopolitan Coverage”. Check out our prize-winning article identifying key conditions for different degrees of cosmopolitan coverage in newspapers of six European countries using Fuzzy Set Qualitatve Comparative Analysis here.

Leave a Comment

Filed under pr

Music recommendation: Axel Bloom

In case any of you were wondering whether I have any interests beyond political communication: Check out my favorite German singer-song-writer Axel Bloom.

You can easily download his whole new album “Irgendwo, Wien” at bandcamp for free!

Leave a Comment

Filed under pr

Two papers accepted at the ICA in Seattle!

I’ll be presenting two papers at the ICA in Seattle this year:

“Multi-media Theme Repertoires in the Everyday Identity Practices of Young Adults” with Kati Förster

“Media as a Mirror of Societal Norms? Norms and Values in Media Content” with Cordula Nitsch

For more information on this year’s ICA, click here: http://www.icahdq.org/

Leave a Comment

Filed under presentations

AUTNES-MediaSide will be presenting three papers at the DGPuK in Passau

My team and I will present three papers at the German annual conference for communication research in Passau this year (28.-30.05.2014):

  • “Intermedia-Agenda-Setting zwischen Online-Nachrichten und traditionellen Medien” (together with Ramona Vonbun, Klaus Schönbach)
  • “Politische Vielfalt in Online- und Offline-Öffentlichkeiten zur österreichischen Nationalratswahl 2013″ (together with Jakob-Moritz Eberl, Martin Haselmayer, Carina Jacobi, Ramona Vonbun and Klaus Schönbach)
  • “Twitter als Agenda-Setter?” (together with Jakob-Moritz Eberl, Ramona Vonbun, as well as Axel Maireder and Stephan Schlögl from TANEP)

For more information on the conference, please click here:  http://www.dgpuk2014.de/tagungsinformationen/tagungsprogramm/

Leave a Comment

Filed under presentations